Visular allows enterprises to carry out effective role management for various users that have been added to the solution. The ‘Role Management’ sub-menu appears inside the ‘Administration’ menu that appears on the top once the administrator signs in. The administrator interface can be navigated by clicking on any of the links in this menu. Administrator will be required to create roles and further assigning privileges to the users added according to the roles.
This tab lets the Visualr administrators define the roles that they wish to assign to users. Let’s have a look upon its fields one by one.
1. Name: This field denotes the name of the role that is being created. Usually it implies the department to which a Visualr user belongs in the organization. Depending upon the department, the access to different privileges will be limited as per their requirements. For example, a QA department Visualr user must have more privileges than a Sales department user.
2. Description: This field contains a small description about the scope of action pertaining to a certain role. More often than not, it is a three to four word long phrase expressing what is the purpose for which the role has been created in Visualr solution.
3. Action: This is a configuration panel inside the Role Management sub-menu that allows the administrator to edit, modify or delete the access privileges ascribed to a certain role.
Add new role
For adding a new role into the Visualr solution, you are required to fill the necessary details in the ‘ADD NEW ROLE’ dialog box. The fields available in this dialog box are as follows:
1. Name: In this text field, you need to fill in the name of the role that you are going to create. As described above, usually it implies the department to which a Visualr user belongs in the organization, such as Sales, QA, Marketing etc.
2. Description: In this text field, you are required to fill a short description about the scope of action pertaining to the role you are going to create. You can write more about this role and justifications of privileges.
3. Select All: This checkbox needs to be marked if you are creating a super-user role with all the access privileges granted to it. This will ensure that the user to be added in this role will be able to perform all the activities possible in Visualr as a user.
4. Activity Privilege Checkbox Selectors: A number of privileges checkbox selectors are available for assigning different levels of access privileges to the new role, pertaining to various activities. Almost all the activities offer four types of basic privileges to be added to any role, which are ‘View’, ‘Insert’, ‘Update’ and ‘Delete’. As the name suggests, a role with ‘View’ access privilege granted may be able to only view the details of that activity and not modify or add anything, while the role with the ‘Insert’ access privilege can add a new record to the activity. Similarly, the ‘Update’ access privilege allows a role to modify or edit the records of an activity, while the ‘Delete’ access privilege enables the role to remove an entry from the activity records permanently.
If a Visular user has been granted access to the rights of view privileges in change password than user will get privilege to modify and update other users’ passwords. Any user can change his or her password any time and no explicit privileges are required.